Formula 1 2014: Abu Dhabi GP Results – Qualifying


The 2014 Formula 1 racing season has been dominated by Mercedes-Benz, with teammates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg taking all but 3 victories and scoring all but a single pole position- and that pole, too, went to a Mercedes-powered car. A quick glance at the number of wins each driver has scored could lead casual fans to assume Lewis, with his ten wins this season, was well ahead of his hard-charging teammate, but it isn’t so. Rosberg’s consistency means he’s only 17 points behind Lewis leading into the penultimate, double-points paying Abu Dhabi GP.

The James Hunt/Niki Lauda duel at the center of Ron Howard’s epic “Rush” movie wasn’t as close as this year’s battle, and it could all come down to the first corner where, if he’s smart, Lewis will plow his Mercedes into the side of Nico’s and take them both well and truly out of the race, clinching the 2014 World Drivers’ Championship in the process.

It’s the only way to be sure- and it would allow Hamilton to win his second WDC in precisely the same manner that his hero and idol, Ayrton Senna, won his in 1990.

It’s also the same way Michael Schumacher won his 1994 WDC against Damon Hill, come to think of it- making that first-lap, championship-winning crash something of an F1 tradition, by now.

So, there’s a prediction for you: Lewis will crash into Nico on the first lap, ruining both Mercedes and clinching the 2014 WDC- leaving the race to be ultimately won by either Sebastian Vettel or Daniel Ricciardo. No one else really matters, this weekend- but here’s how they line up, regardless.


Rosberg Takes Pole at Abu Dhabi GP Finale


Driver No. Driver Team Grid Pos.
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 3
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 4
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 5
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 6
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 7
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 8
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 9
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 10
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 11
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 12
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 13
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 14
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 15
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 16
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 17
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 18
10 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 19
46 Will Stevens Caterham-Renault 20

NOTE: Grosjean qualified P16, drops 4 grid places as part of 20-place penalty for power unit changes; also incurs an in-race drive-through penalty in lieu of unused places.


Source | Images: Formula 1 | Motorsport.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.