Formula 1 2014: Brazilian GP Results – FINAL


After all the hype of the 2013 silly season, the 2014 running of the Brazilian GP delivered- finally!- on the promise of a titanic, inter-team battle of champions between Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen. Unfortunately, it was a battle for 6th, overall, because there was absolutely no catching the Mercedes-powered cars.

Up front, Lewis Hamilton had a lurid slide off track, gifting the win to Nico Rosberg who was, it must be said, well ahead of the Englishman throughout the weekend practice and qualifying sections. It was a nail-biter of a race, though, with lewis closing the gap, Nico responding, Lewis closing, and- in the end- a crucial win for Rosberg. With this win, Nico closes the points gap with Hamilton to 17, making next weekend’s double-points finale at Abu Dhabi very much a winner-take-all proposition for the two Mercedes drivers.

Behind them, Felipe Massa managed to drag his Mercedes-engined Williams to the 3rd step of the podium in front of a fanatical home crowd. His Brazilian GP was a comedy of errors, with the hometown favorite speeding through pit lane (forcing a 5 sec. penalty) before pulling into the McLaren pit box and wasting valuable seconds. Such is the power advantage of the Mercedes engine, though, that he still managed to make 3rd look easy … and it’s a good thing.

You really get the sense that, had Massa won the race, the rabid Sao Paolo fans would have ripped the track apart in a frenzy.

Behind the Mercedes cars, Sebastian Vettel managed to stay ahead of the tussling Ferrari boys- and, for those of you wondering, Alonso took 6th from Kimi, relegating the Finn to 7th. Here’s how the 2014 Brazilian GP played out for everyone else.


Driver No. Driver Team Pos.
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2
19 Felipe Massa Williams 3
22 Jenson Button McLaren 4
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 5
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 6
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 7
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 8
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 9
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams 10
26 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 11
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 12
25 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 13
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 14
11 Sergio Perez Force India 15
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 16
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault Ret.
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Ret.


Source | Images: Motorsport.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.

2 thoughts on “Formula 1 2014: Brazilian GP Results – FINAL

Comments are closed.