Formula 1 2014: Singapore GP Results – Final

singapore gp results

The Singapore GP was over for championship leader Nico Rosberg before it started after his Mercedes-AMG Hybrid refused to start on the grid, forcing the driver to start from the back of the grid. Unlike his rival and teammate Lewis Hamilton, however, Rosberg was unable to recover. After deliberately stalling his car on pit lane in a bid to fix some electrical gremlins, Rosberg was unable to get the car restarted and retired from the race. That retirement effectively handed the win- and the championship lead- to Hamilton.

Behind Hamilton, the Red Bull duo of Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo finished a close 2-3, with Fernando Alonso’s Ferrari in 4th. That 4th for Ferrari, however, could have easily been a 3rd or 2nd if Vettal and Ricciardo hadn’t put in epic drives of their own- putting in competitive lap after lap on badly worn tires.

Further back, an epic mid-pack battle for 6th-11th saw Jean-Eric Vergne and Sergio Perez dice up the much more highly-rated cars of Kimi Raikkonen, Nico Hulkenburg, and Felipe Massa. Their drives today, more than ever, beg the question of whether Red Bull was right in handing Vergne’s 2015 seat to rookie Max Verstappen and whether McLaren made the right decision by canning Perez (who finished ahead of both their chosen drivers in the supposedly superior McLarens) at the end of last year.

That’s speculation for another time, perhaps. For now, Lewis is back in the championship lead, Red Bull seems to be well and truly still in the game, and Fernando Alonso has proven that he can wrestle a competitive Singapore GP out of an underperforming car yet again. Here’s how the Singapore GP played out for everyone else:


Driver No. Driver Team Pos.
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 2
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 3
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 4
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 5
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 6
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 7
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 8
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 9
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 10
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 11
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 12
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 13
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 14
9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 15
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 16
4 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari -1 Lap
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Ret.
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari Ret.
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari Ret.
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Ret.
10 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault Ret.


Sources | Images: Formula 1, Motorsport.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.