Formula 1 2014: Belgian GP at Spa – Results

Formula 1 2014 Belgian GP Results

This morning’s Formula 1 Belgian GP at the legendary Spa-Francorchamps circuit lived up to the hype that always surrounds Spa, with plenty of spills and thrills from beginning to end- and what an ending! Daniel Ricciardo held off a charging Nico Rosberg for his third win of the season!

Even while the day was Daniel and Red Bull’s, however, the headlines tomorrow will be all about the Mercedes duo of Hamilton and Rosberg.

In the opening stages of the race, on lap 2, Nico Rosberg tried to make up for a slow start by storming past his World Drivers’ Champion teammate, Lewis Hamilton, for the race lead. It was a rash, stupid move, and resulted in Nico’s Mercedes losing a section of its front wing while Hamilton’s cut a tire, forcing him to limp around the 4+ mile long Spa circuit until he could make into the pits.

From first to last, that fast.

Further back, Kimi Raikkonen put in his best drive of 2014, so far, putting his Ferrari into 2nd, then 3rd for much of the race before finally losing out to Williams‘ Valtteri Bottas in the closing seconds of the race and finishing in P4.

P5, however, was a different story. There was a titanic battle for 5th in the last stint of the race, with Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel, and young rookie Kevin Magnussen dicing furiously lap after lap, corner after corner. It was a thrilling display of race craft carried out by four drivers with seven World Drivers’ Championships between them, an it looked like it could go anybody’s way down to the last.

If you can find the battle for 5th on YouTube, you should definitely take some time out to watch it. Until then, you can see how the rest of the 2014 Formula 1 Belgian GP played out for everyone else in the chart, below.


Driver No. Driver Team Pos.
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 1
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 2
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 3
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 4
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 5
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 6
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 7
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 8
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 9
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 10
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 11
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 12
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 13
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 14
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 15
4 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari -1 Lap
9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault -1 Lap
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari -5 Laps
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Ret.
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault Ret.
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault Ret.
45 Andre Lotterer Caterham-Renault Ret.


Source | Photos: Formula 1.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.