Formula 1 2014: Hockenheim GP Results – Qualifying

Williams Martini Racing

The Formula 1 circus has descended on Hockenheim for the 2014 running of the German Grand Prix – and the word of the weekend is FRIC. FRIC stands for “Front/Rear Inter-Connected”, and describes a complicated suspension system that works to keep a Formula 1 car’s chassis level to the ground under braking, acceleration, and cornering. FRIC looks like this …


… helps the cars to generate aerodynamic downforce, while giving drivers a degree of control over how the car changes attitude at speed as the downforce increases.

Or, rather, it did do those things.

As of this weekend, FRIC suspensions have been banned in Formula 1, and it looks like the hitherto dominant Mercedes/AMG Hybrid team has suffered worst for it. Granted, they’re still the fastest cars in the field by virtue of their innovative “split” turbocharged engine, but their cars are much harder to drive – just ask 2008 World Drivers’ Champion Lewis Hamilton, who lost control of his Benz under braking in Q1, bringing out a red flag and putting himself, more or less, out of contention for the overall win in tomorrow’s race.

One team that seems to have greatly improved its odds of winning FRIC-free is McLaren, who managed to put rookie driver Kevin Magnussen into P4, just ahead of Daniel Ricciardo’s Red Bull. The Williams duo of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas, too, seem to be nipping at the heals of would-be champion Rosberg – but do they have the race pace to keep the pressure on him?

We’ll find out tomorrow. Until then, you can see how Hockenheim’s qualifying sessions played out for everyone else, below. Enjoy!


Driver No. Driver Team Grid Pos.
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 2
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 3
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 4
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 5
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 6
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 7
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 8
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 9
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 10
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 11
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 12
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 13
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 14
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 15
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 16
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 17
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 18
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 19
10 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 20
4 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 21
9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 22
Note: Gutierrez qualified P14, but drops three places for causing collision at previous round.


Source | Images: Formula 1, Motorsport.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.