IndyCar 2014: Iowa Corn 300 Results – Qualifying

IndyCar 2014: Iowa Corn 300

Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan made in an all-Ganassi, all-Chevy front row in yesterday’s rainy, Iowa Corn 300 qualifying session. On the way to locking out the front row, Dixon set a new, two-lap qualifying track record of 186.256 MPH, proving that the Target Ganassi team – which has struggled a bit in 2014 – is still a force to be reckoned with.

“It’s definitely a good thing to see the Ganassi cars at the top,” said the reigning IndyCar champion, whose previous best oval qualifying result this season was a 7th at Texas Motor Speedway. “We’d been stuck in sort of a rut and it had been a while since my last pole. We’re winless (in 2014), so we have a bit of work to do. It definitely will be a tough one. The competition is extremely good.”

The Ganassi duo were no doubt helped by a Penske team had a tough weekend. Pocono winner Juan Pablo Montoya in the #2 Penske Chevrolet had some setup issues after running strong in practice, and his Penske teammate, Will Power in the #3 car, is fighting bronchitis this weekend.

On the other end of the spectrum, Dixon and Kanaan will have to fend off oval specialist and Texas winner Ed Carpenter, who will be starting from the 5th row when the green flag drops at 8PM (EST) tonight.

The 2014 IndyCar Iowa Corn 300 will air, live, on NBC Sports, and you’ll be able to catch the live timing and scoring feed online, as well. Enjoy!


Car No. Driver Engine Grid Pos. Speed (MPH)
9 Scott Dixon Chevy 1 186.256
10 Tony Kanaan Chevy 2 185.891
3 Helio Castroneves Chevy 3 185.685
8 Ryan Briscoe Chevy 4 185.339
34 Carlos Munoz ® Honda 5 185.027
11 Sebastien Bourdais Chevy 6 184.968
83 Charlie Kimball Chevy 7 184.743
25 Marco Andretti Honda 8 184.726
12 Will Power Chevy 9 184.683
20 Ed Carpenter Chevy 10 184.589
77 Simon Pagenaud Honda 11 184.380
7 Mikhail Aleshin ® Honda 12 184.316
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda 13 183.747
27 James Hinchcliffe Honda 14 183.348
15 Graham Rahal Honda 15 183.201
14 Takuma Sato Honda 16 183.089
17 Sebastian Saavedra Chevy 17 183.083
19 Justin Wilson Honda 18 182.455
2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevy 19 182.317
98 Jack Hawksworth Honda 20 181.243
67 Josef Newgarden Honda 21 180.987
18 Carlos Huertas ® Honda 22 177.849

Source: IndyCar.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.