Formula 1 2014: Austrian GP Results – Qualifying

Felipe Massa - Williams Pole

After weeks and months of missed chances and botched pit stops and wondering what might have been, the Williams Martini team has finally made good on the promise it showed in the pre-season practice sessions. That’s because, tomorrow, for the first time in more than ten years, we will have an all-Williams front row for the start of a Grand Prix race!

Felipe Massa an Valtteri Bottas didn’t falter as the dominant Mercedes/AMG Hybrids of Rosberg and Hamilton fell to (what appeared to be) driver errors and electronic glitches. The bulletproof Williams, meanwhile, will start the race just ahead of Rosberg’s Mercedes with Ferrari’s two-time World Champion Fernando Alonso starting from fourth … which is a bit better than his “traditional” P5 starting place.

Speaking of World Championship-winning drivers, 2008 WDC Lewis Hamilton will be starting in the 10th spot after throwing his qualifying session away by putting all 4 of his Merc’s wheels off the racing line (a big no-no at the Austrian GP), and four-time WDC Sebastian Vettel failed to get his Red Bull Renault out of Q2, making this the 6th time this season that he’s been out-qualified by his teammate and the first time that he’s been out-driven by rookie Daniil Kvyat in the “junior” Red Bull/Toro Rosso team.

So, yeah – it’s a bad time to be ol’ Seb.

There weren’t many surprises further back in the field – except, perhaps, that Sergio Perez’ 5 grid-spot penalty from Canada was upheld. So, despite setting the 11th best time of the day, Perez’ will start from 16th. You can see how this morning’s Austrian GP qualifying played out for everyone else, below.


Car No. Driver Team Grid Pos.
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 2
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 3
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 4
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 5
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 6
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 7
7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 8
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 9
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 10
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 11
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 12
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 13
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 14
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 15
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 16
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 17
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 18
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 19
10 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 20
4 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 21
9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 22


Source: Formula 1.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.