IndyCar 2014: Grand Prix of Long Beach Race Results – FINAL

Conway wins the 2014 Toyota GP of Long Beach

The 2014 running of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach marked the event’s 40th running, and what a way to celebrate! The race-winner was (2011 Long Beach winner) Mike Conway, who ran a smart race, kept his nose clean, and fought off a hard-charging Will Power to secure the win. Still, Conway’s wasn’t the drive of the race- that honor goes to fourth-place finisher Juan Pablo Montoya.

Montoya had a lot to prove going into the 2014 season. He was getting on in years and looking a little soft compared to the young, fit Montoya that won at Indy and Monaco- but Montoya is a hero to many Latin-Americans, and he promised them- us!- that he was coming back to race. Race he did- starting from 16th on the grid after contact with the wall early in Saturday’s qualifying, Montoya charged all the way to 3rd before a poorly-timed pit stop under caution forced him to re-start from the back of the pack on lap 30. Once the green flags flew again, Montoya began his charge to the front anew- passing everyone (again!) all the way to a 4th-place finish.

It was the kind of charge you see in IndyCar maybe once every few decades. The last one I saw that compared to Montoya’s Long Beach push was Villeneuve at the 1995 Indy 500- and if Montoya was 15 years younger we’d all be heralding the birth of a new star.

Speaking of new stars, how about that Josef Newgarden? His team, Sarah Fisher Racing, is under-funded, under-staffed, and seems pretty comfortable with their underdog badge. Nobody told young Newgarden, though- his race ended when got smacked from behind by Ryan Hunter-Reay. While leading the freakin’ race! It’s no wonder they’re talking about sending the kid to Formula 1 to fly the stars and stripes!

Still, this was Mike Conway’s race, and he deserves a ton of credit. Here’s how the race played out for everyone else …


Car No. Driver Engine Grid Pos.
20 Mike Conway Chevy 1
12 Will Power Chevy 2
34 Carlos Munoz Honda 3
2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevy 4
77 Simon Pagenaud Honda 5
7 Mikhail Aleshin Honda 6
16 Oriol Servia Honda 7
25 Marco Andretti Honda 8
17 Sebastian Saavedra Chevy 9
18 Carlos Huertas Honda 10
3 Helio Castroneves Chevy 11
9 Scott Dixon Chevy 12
15 Graham Rahal Honda -1 Lap
11 Sebastian Bourdais Chevy -3 Laps
98 Jack Hawksworth Honda -3 Laps
19 Justin Wilson Honda -16 Laps
8 Ryan Briscoe Chevy -20 Laps
10 Tony Kanaan Chevy Ret
67 Josef Newgarden Honda Ret
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda Ret
27 James Hinchcliffe Honda Ret
14 Takuma Sato Honda Ret
83 Charlie Kimball Chevy Ret


… and you can get a better sense of what the 40th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach was like, from Mike Conway’s perspective, in this handy infographic provided by IndyCar timing and scoring. Enjoy!



Source | Photos: IndyCar.

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.