Formula E Driver's Club Adds Some Serious Talent

Sebastian Bourdain Formula E

Depending on who you ask, Formula E represents the future of open-wheel racing. The sport has already attracted a number of seriously heavy-hitting teams that have earned their speedy reputations in other types of racing, but now that the inaugural season of electric action is upon us, a number of high-profile drivers are committing to the new series, as well.

On January 8th, drivers like Sebastien Buemi (ex-F1), Marco Andretti (IndyCar), Karun Chandhok (FIA GT), Vitantonio Liuzzi (ex-F1), Adrien Tambay, Ma Qing Hua, Lucas di Grassi (ex-F1), and Takuma Sato (ex-F1) all joined the official Formula E “Driver’s Club”. The move indicates a committed to the new race series, and gives the drivers’ official endorsement to the championship, indicating their willingness to participate in the 2014 series.

Earlier today, more big-name drivers were added to the Formula E roster, including ex-F1 driver Bruno Senna and one of the guys who won this past weekend’s 2014 Daytona 24 Hour race, Sébastien Bourdais– who, if you remember his days in IndyCar, you know is probably the class of the road-racing Formula E field, at this point.

Less notable, but still seriously talented drivers Oriol Servia, Daniel Abt, Narain Karthikeyan, Christijan Albers, Franck Montagny, and Formula Drift driver J. R. Hildebrand round out the rest of the FE driver’s club.


Sources | Photos: Formula E,

Jo Borrás

I've been in the auto industry 1997, and write for a number of blogs in the IM network. You can also find me on Twitter, at my Volvo fansite, out on two wheels, or chasing my kids around Oak Park, IL.