Neil Young Makes Entire Concept Album About Electric Cars


Rock legend Neil Young has never made a secret of his radical eco-credentials. Now it seems he’s putting his (non-fossil fuel based) creative juices to good use by releasing an entire concept album about … electric cars.

The album, called Fork in the Road, focuses on the singer’s most recent obsession – a retooled 1959 Lincoln Continental that runs entirely on alternative energy. Its main themes are inspired by Young’s involvement with the Lincvolt Project,  a collaboration between the singer and biodiesel innovator Johnathan Goodwin to develop a commercially viable electric power system for automobiles.

Following the earlier release of a single, also called Fork in the Road (video), Young’s label Warner Reprise have announced that the album will be available on April 7, and revealed the full tracklist (after the jump).

Here’s the Fork in the Road tracklist:

01 When Worlds Collide

02 Fuel Line

03 Just Singing a Song

04 Johnny Magic

05 Cough Up the Bucks

06 Get Behind the Wheel

07 Off the Road

08 Hit the Road

09 Light a Candle

10 Fork in the Road

I have to admit, I’m a little disappointed that the album won’t include tracks like ‘Keep on Charging in the Free (Energy) World’, ‘Cortez the (Volt) Killer’ and ‘Part of Gold’ – What do you think?

Image Credit – chris_heald via on a Creative Commons license

Andrew Williams

is a writer and freelance journalist specialising in sustainability and green issues. He lives in Cardiff, Wales.